Tennessee Highway Patrol Trooper Injured in Suspected DUI Crash
May 13, 2014
A 51-year-old woman faces charges for driving while under the influence (DUI) and three other motorists could face charges in connection with an accident that injured a Tennessee Highway Trooper and a tow truck driver. According to a news report in The Leaf-Chronicle, the alleged DUI accident occurred on Interstate 24 near the 9-mile marker in Clarksville. Officials say a 51-year-old Clarksville woman may have been under the influence when she lost control of her vehicle on a curve and struck an earth embankment.
While passing the crash site, the 48-year-old driver of a Ford F-150 slowed to a near stop and the 21-year-old driver of a Suzuki SXS allegedly cut off a tractor-trailer driven by a 41-year-old man. The tow truck was struck by the tractor-trailer and the Suzuki struck the highway trooper. The driver of the Dodge Ram has been charged with DUI and charges are pending against the drivers of the F-150, Suzuki, and tractor-trailer.
Tennessee officers are quick to assume that drivers who lose control are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is important in these types of cases to determine if the driver really was impaired or if there were other factors that contributed to the crash. Dangerous roadway conditions, hazardous shoulders, defective auto parts, and the actions of other careless motorists are all potential causes of injury accidents.
If an officer believes that you caused an accident by driving under the influence, you will likely have to take a breath test and you could be brought to the station for an official blood alcohol test. Remember, you have the right to remain silent and you even have the right to refuse a breath test. As a Tennessee motorist, however, you are required to take a blood alcohol test at the station.
Anyone who has been arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence in Tennessee would be well advised to build a solid defense strategy because the penalties for a DUI conviction are severe. Individuals who are convicted of refusing a blood alcohol test can face a yearlong license suspension. First-time DUI offenders can face jail time, a yearlong license revocation, mandatory attendance in an alcohol and drug treatment program, and a fine of up to $1,500. If you have been arrested on suspicion of drunk driving, please contact a Tennessee DUI defense lawyer to protect your rights and defend the charges.