Roane County Commissioner Arrested on DUI Charges
March 13, 2015
A Roane County commissioner was recently arrested on suspicion of a DUI after a Tennessee Highway Patrol officer stopped the 1992 Chevrolet Silverado around 8 p.m. on Old Harriman Highway. The officer said that he pulled the 59-year-old driver over for a seat belt violation, however, when he approached the car, he reportedly smelled alcohol. The commissioner told the officer that he’d only had one beer before driving, but he was unable to pass a field sobriety test, resulting in the arrest.
The punishment for a DUI conviction in Tennessee is still very serious, even if it is a first offense. The commissioner could face up to two days in jail, upwards of $10,000 in fees and costs, drug and alcohol rehabilitation courses, and a license revocation for up to a year. There are additional penalties that may be levied in a conviction, including but not limited to, a court-ordered Interlock Ignition Device, which will incur additional fees. On top of that, a conviction for this crime can interfere with both your personal and professional life, such as increased insurance premiums, difficulty finding a job, and the social stigma of having committed such a potentially deadly offense.
The fact is everyone makes mistakes. A DUI-related conviction can come with very harsh penalties, but with a knowledgeable and experienced attorney on your side, it is possible to have the charges against you reduced or even dropped altogether. You may have more legal options than you might be aware of. If you have been arrested for a DUI, please do not wait another moment to contact Baker Associates today. Let us help you protect your future.