Knoxville Man Faces Eighth DUI Charge
January 7, 2014
A 67-year-old Knoxville man was recently arrested on suspicion of a number of charges including his eighth for driving under the influence (DUI). According to a news report in The Greeneville Sun, he was arrested in Greeneville. In addition to DUI, he faces charges for his sixth offense of driving on a revoked license, felony possession of Schedule II drugs, possession of drug paraphernalia, resisting arrest, and speeding.
First-time DUI offenders in Tennessee face harsh penalties, but repeat offenders often face life-changing consequences.
- First DUI Offense: Penalties include between 48 hours and 11 months and 29 days of jail time, a fine of up to $1,500, mandatory DUI school, and driver’s license suspension for one year.
- Second DUI Offense: A repeat offense can result in up to 11 months and 29 days in jail, a fine of up to $3,500, DUI school, two-year driver’s license revocation, and the installation of an ignition interlock device. Some repeat offenders could face mandatory community service and vehicle forfeiture as well.
- Third DUI Offense: Many of the penalties for a third DUI conviction are similar to a second conviction with the exception of a six-year license revocation and a fine of up to $10,000.
- Fourth DUI Offense: A fourth conviction will result in significantly more severe penalties, including a six-year jail sentence, a fine of $15,000, and an eight-year minimum license revocation.
Anyone facing DUI charges, even if it is a first offense, would be well advised to take their situation seriously. Many Tennessee prosecutors pursue the harshest punishments when it comes to DUI offenders. If you have been arrested, please to speak to an experienced Knoxville DUI defense lawyer to begin building a solid defense and to ensure that your rights are protected.