TACDL
National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
Tennessee Bar Association
National College of DUI Defense
iapp

Car Accidents

In 2019, there were more than 200,000 car crashes in Tennessee with more than 48,000 involving an injury. If you were injured in a car accident due to the negligence of the other driver, you could be entitled to significant compensation.

Allow us to fight the legal battle while you focus on your recovery.

What can You do?

If you are involved in a car accident, the first thing you should do is contact the police.

Then you should seek medical attention. Even if you do not believe your injuries are particularly severe, it is better to be safe than sorry. You could be injured and not realize it; or symptoms may develop later and it is important to have a record of seeking medical attention for your injuries after the crash.

Next, try to document the scene if you are able. Take pictures and write down exactly what you remember from the accident. Also, if there are any witnesses do your best to obtain their contact information and convince them to provide a statement to the police.

Lastly, exchange insurance information with the other driver or drivers.

Contact an Attorney

If you have been injured in a car accident, the insurance company will try to take advantage of the fact that you need money quickly to pay for medical bills. Their stance is further solidified by the fact many attorneys are hesitant to take a case to trial, therefore, the insurance company’s offer is likely to be accepted. Hire an attorney who will give you the upper hand at the negotiating table. Our experienced litigators will fight for the compensation you deserve.

Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations acts as a deadline for filing the complaint to start a lawsuit. Therefore, if you fail to file your claim before the statute of limitations runs out, then your case will be dismissed. Personal Injury cases have fairly short statute of limitations, which is why it is so important for you to contact a Nashville personal injury attorney immediately if you were in a car wreck.

If you were injured in a car accident and are seeking compensation, you have 1 year from the date of the crash to file your lawsuit. On the other hand, if you are seeking compensation for damage to your vehicle or other property, the statute of limitations is 3 years.

Not knowing the filing deadlines could devastate your case, so contact the personal injury attorneys with Baker Associates today.